Many unforgettable journeys one may have taken in life. I have few and many years ago, I have written about one. Many of my current blog readers, might have not follow my posting during those times. But this blog has always been about those moments that pass me by day after day.

As I have written about my long walk with my late Dad, I think, it should just be proper for me to revisit another journey that I have taken with my late dad. This journey was special because it is a rare journey that I have taken, together with my dad and my mum.

If I can still remember it correctly, the year must be in 1975 and I am five years old. Few months after Bah and Mama had their divorce. Bah stayed in KL and we, mama, the siblings and me except for my brother Doyek were still living in Lorong Che Hussin, near the infamous mental hospital in Kota Bharu.

I can’t remember the urgency but Mama and me left KB hurriedly to Kuala Lumpur. It was the song by Sanisah Huri that reminded me most about the journey. Bah pick us in KL and drove us to Port Dickson to meet Doyek, who was undergoing his military training there.

It was the one and only journey, which I can remember clearly where I can put only Bah, Mama and me together. The only romantic thing was the song composed by the late P.Ramlee blasting from the stereo of the Toyota.  Bah and Mama were tense as usual whenever they were together.

 

“Sejak ku bertemu pada mu

Fikiran ku telah terharu

Hanya kekanda yang akan dapat

Sejak ku bertemu pada mu

Fikiran ku telah terharu

Hanya kekanda yang akan dapat

Mengubatkan hati ku rindu

 

Ku bentangkan perasaan ku pada mu

Untuk mengadilkan bisikan sukma ku

Ku bentangkan perasaan ku pada mu

Untuk mengadilkan bisikan sukma ku

Andainya kanda pikat asmara

Sudikan dengan jiwa raga ku

 

Sejak ku bertemu pada mu

Fikiran ku telah terharu

Hanya kekanda yang akan dapat

Mengubatkan hati ku rindu

 

Ku jadikan tanda mahkota pujaan

Ambillah dinda untuk jadi suntingan

Ku jadikan tanda mahkota pujaan

Ambillah dinda untuk jadi suntingan

Ku persembahkan diri pada mu

Kerna kandalah syurga bagi ku

 

Sejak ku bertemu pada mu

Fikiran ku telah terharu

Hanya kekanda yang akan dapat

Mengubatkan hati ku rindu”

How I wish the moment could have been different. How I wish the moment was filled with love and tenderness.

Fast-forward 35 years later, I have lost both of them and never since that day, the three of us were together privately again. Nevertheless God is great. He shows me what I have never seen in my parents.

God has given me two beautiful elderly people in my life through my marriage.  My father and mother-in-law. They have proven that some people can cherish their love till infinity.

Whenever I see my father-in-law drove his wife from Johore Bahru to KL and back, I never fail to remember that journey, I have taken with my parent. How I wish it would have been Bah and Mama.