The Announcement of Malaysia’s new cabinet saw the inclusion of Mike Tyson a.k.a Muhammad Muhammad Taib. It also saw the long serving Minister, Wanita UMNO Chief, Rafidah Aziz being left behind. It also saw for the first time a bimbo appointed as Deputy Minister, ‘ketua penyedap UMNO’ or short form, Puteri UMNO, Noraini is in.

Amongst those who were left to be history are Jamaluddin Jarjis, due to moral ground, Azmi Khalid and Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, due to the backstabbing and coup de tat in Perlis and Tengku Adnan for controversially involved in the Lingam Video.

More than half of the ministers are new faces. 

They are Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Zaid Ibrahim, Amirsham Aziz, Ismail Sabri, Douglah Unggah, Ong Tee Keat, Ng Yen Yen, Noh Omar, Zin Mohamed, Liow Tiong Lay, Ahmad Shabery Chik, Shahrir Samad, Muhammad Muhammad Taib, Ong Ka Chuan, and Shaziman Abu Mansor. 

After the announcement, the press bombarded Pak Lah with question regarding Najib’s who was not with him during the press conference. 


The following is the list of cabinet ministers and their deputies as announced by the prime minister at 12 noon today.


Prime MinisterAbdullah Ahmad Badawi (Umno)


Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak (Umno)


Finance Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (Umno)


Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop (Umno)

Deputies: Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah (Umno), Kong Cho Ha (MCA)


Defence Minister Najib Razak (Umno)

Deputy: Abu Seman Yusop (Umno)


Housing and Local Government Minister Ong Ka Chuan (MCA)

Deputy: Robert Lau Hoi Chew (Supp), Hamzah Zainuddin (Umno)             


Works Minister Mohd Zin Mohamed (Umno)

Deputy: Yong Khoon Seng (Supp) 


Energy, Water and Communications Minister Shaziman Abu Mansor

Deputy: Joseph Salang Gandum


Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Minister Mustapa Mohamed (Umno)

Deputy: Rohani Abdul Karim (Umno)


International Trade and Industry Minister Muhyiddin Yassin (Umno)

Deputy: Leow Wui Keong (LDP), Jacob Dungau Sagan

Foreign Minister Rais Yatim (Umno)

Deputy: Tengku Azlan Sultan Abu Bakar (Umno)

Education Minister Hishammuddin Hussein (Umno)

Deputies: Dr Wee Ka Siong (MCA), Razali Ismail (Umno)


Transport Minister Ong Tee Keat (MCA)

Deputy: Anifah Aman

Health Minister Liow Tiong Lai (MCA)

Deputy: Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad (Umno)

Human Resources Minister S Subramaniam (MIC)

Deputy: Noraini Ahmad (Umno)

Home Affairs and Internal Security Minister Syed Hamid Albar (Umno)

Deputies: Chor Chee Heung (MCA), Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh (Umno)

Women, Family and Community Development Minister Dr Ng Yen Yen (MCA)

Deputy: Noriah Kasmon (Umno)

National Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Shafie Apdal (Umno)

Deputy: Teng Boon Soon (MCA)

Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Dr Maximus Ongkili (PBS)

Deputy: Fadillah Yusof

Entrepreneurial and Cooperative Development Minister Noh Omar (Umno)

Deputy: Saifudin Abdullah 

Higher Education Minister Mohd Khaled Nordin (Umno)

Deputies: Idris Haron (Umno), Dr Hou Kok Chung (MCA)

Information Minister Ahmad Shabery Cheek (Umno)

Deputy: Tan Lian Hoe (Gerakan) 

Natural Resources and Environment Minister Douglas Uggah Embas (PBB)

Deputy: Abdul Ghapur Salleh (Umno) 

Rural and Regional Development Minister Senator Muhammad Muhammad Taib (Umno)

Deputies: Joseph Kurup, Joseph Entulu Belaun

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Shahrir Abdul Samad (Umno)

Deputy: Jelaing Mersat 

Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Peter Chin Fah Kui (Supp)

Deputy: Kohilan Pillay (Gerakan)

Youth and Sports Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob (Umno)

Deputy: Wee Jeck Seng (MCA)

Tourism Minister Azalina Othman Said (Umno)

Deputy: Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib (PBB)

Federal Territories MinisterZulhasnan Rafique (Umno)

Deputy: M Saravanan (MIC)

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department 

Zaid Ibrahim (Umno, to be appointed senator) – legal affairs

Zahid Hamidi (Umno)

Bernard Dompok (Upko)

Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz (Umno)

Amirsham A Aziz (former Maybank CEO, to be appointed senator)

Deputies: Mohd Johari Baharum (Umno), Mashitah Ibrahim (Umno, to be appointed senator), SK Devamany (MIC) and Hasan Malek (Umno).

A total of 16 ministers did not make it into the new cabinet. They are the following:

Those dropped from list

International Trade and Industry

Rafidah Aziz (Umno)

Human Resources 

Dr Fong Chan Onn (MCA)

Home Affairs 

Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad (Umno)

Science, Technology and Innovation

Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis (Umno)

Natural Resources and Environment

Azmi Khalid (Umno)


Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (Umno)

Lost in 2008 general elections


S Samy Vellu (MIC)

Women, Family and Community Development

Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (Umno)


Zainuddin Maidin (Umno)

Rural and Regional Development

Abdul Aziz Shamsuddin (Umno)

Prime Minister’s Department

Dr Abdullah Md Zin (Umno) (kesilapan sumber Malaysiakini – P33 Besut, Abdullah Md Zin menang)

Declined to accept post

Housing and Local Government 

Ong Ka Ting (MCA)

Did not contest parliament seat


Chan Kong Choy (MCA)

Prime Minister’s Department

Mohd Effendi Norwawi (PBB)

Those resigned and retired


Chua Soi Lek (MCA), resigned in January 2008 

Energy, Water and Communications 

Dr Lim Keng Yaik (Gerakan), retire from politics