foot-in-mouth-copy.jpg

As an introduction on the screening of Munich to my screenplay’s students, I talked about Jews, Palestinians and Malaysians. It is a very sensitive issue and Munich had not been well accepted by the Muslim communities of the earth. Nevertheless, Spielberg tackled the issue well although I would say, he romanticized Avener character too much.

 

At the end of the introduction, I asked for their sincere opinion in describing who eighty-six of us are. As the result, the answer they given me were, there are eighty-five Malaysian and one Malay fella in this class.

 

They refused to accept me as a Malaysian.  One stood and argued my protest, “We are neither Chinese nor Indians, and we are Malaysian first. But sir, you are a Malay and a Muslim and your UMNO or PAS can never make you a Malaysian”.

 

“Sir, you even robbed our language!” a stern voice came from somewhere. “What?” “Hey, who just call me a robber?”

 

One small fella from Kedah stood up, “Sir, during my father’s time, they used to call the National Language Bahasa Malaysia, but now, they called it Bahasa Melayu! Why?”

 

There you go. Me, the short and botak Kelantanese fella fighting to stand tall with other eighty-five hairy Malaysians, nevertheless, the only shining outcome was my balding head. I was shoved, I was pushed and I was bullied. I am a minority in my Malaysia.  Yes, I am a minority because I am a Malay. Yet, I always called myself a Malaysian.

 

I continued my protest silently, I stared at those faces, the faces that the Keris fellas called Cina, India, Iban, Kadazan, Dayak and lain-lain. Here, I am being marginalized because of those politician’s foot in mouth disease.

 

In Kelantan, I used to be marginalized because my fellow Kelantanese did not think I spoke proper Kelantanese dialect. Yes, this is true. My command of Kelantanese dialect is very poor, legacy of a family that traveled a lot. When I came to Kuala Lumpur for my form four, I was again marginalized because my schoolmates claimed my command of Bahasa
Malaysia stink like budu.

 

No way am I going to allow anyone marginalized me again. I demand to be a Malaysian and for that, no Keris can deny it.

 

It has been almost fifty years since this land first heard the word Merdeka. How many more years to come before we can Merdeka ourselves as Malaysian. We should continue to be UMNO, MCA, GERAKAN, MIC, SUPP, PBS, PBB, PAS, PKR, DAP and many more. Therefore, no reason to cease that. Nevertheless there should be only one bangsa. The bangsa Malaysia.

 

The Muslim Malaysians who predominantly Malays, do not need Islam Hadhari to achieve being a Malaysian. We just need to look back at what Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) taught us. Read back the history of Medina.

 

The human populations do not need Islam Hadhari to make the world a safer place. They just need to believe in consensus and forget the differences. For that we can help to make the world a better place by starting to be Malaysian.

 

p/s: Dear Ranger Sir,

 

The late Lt. Col. (Rtd) Syed Abdul Aziz Syed Razak, The former Commanding Officer of 1st Ranger is a very good man and he is my Father.